What Qualities are needed to be Fully Embraced

30 Jul

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.17.49 PM

What qualities are needed to be fully embraced
Without ego
Without control
Without desire for approval

Trust
Courage
Laughter
Admiration
Exploration
Compassion

I want to embrace you, everything of you, the pearls, the eels.
And I –
I want to be embraced

By the wind, the earth, by the fire, by my soul, by you, by what is real
Not because I need, but because I am
I am love
We are love
It is our highest nature

Sometimes I find myself trying to prove myself to you
Trying to change you for me
As if becoming this more perfect self will make you deserve my love more
Or that if I become a more perfect self
I will deserve love.

When did I make being perfect necessary for giving and receiving love?

Let go
Let go
Let Love

2 Responses to “What Qualities are needed to be Fully Embraced”

  1. Smith, Donna B. August 11, 2014 at 1:38 am #

    Monique – I love your ability to put yourself out there. Your words are thoughtful and powerful – love you lots, Mom ________________________________________

  2. Kathleen October 21, 2014 at 5:35 pm #

    this poem says so much in a poetic way about humans becoming

Leave a Reply

