The Launching of Spoons!

29 May

ImageFor the past couple of months I have been working on a project called Spoons with support and help from so many people.

All of you know who you are and I give a big thank you! 

Why is it called Spoons? Because Spoons come in all different shapes and sizes, and each has the ability to cradle as well as be cradled. 

Spoons is a program where people with different physical and/or mental abilities come together to explore the path of wellness together. Together the group explores what it means to be alive. Finding out tools like meditation, breathing, positive psychology, philosophy, and wellness articles/books/videos.

Workshops will be held at 519 Church Street from 1-3 pm $15 a session, limited to 15 people. 

RSVP to moksmith@gmail.com 

Sunday July 13: Foundations: Who am I? What are my Strengths and Values?

Sunday July 27: Relationship with the Self: Creating purpose, courage, and healthy lifestyles.  

Sunday August 17: Relationship with Others: Non-violent communication and dealing with difficult people. 

Sunday August 31: Relationship with the Other: Cultivating loving kindness, gratitude, and presence. 

This is not a group for one on one counseling, or for people trying to overcome severe mental challenges. If an issue comes up that is above our means as a group, I will support this person any way I can, and offer to refer them to trained professionals that can effectively support the person in this time of need. I am not a psychologist, but I am passionate about enabling others to achieve a healthy body, mind, and spirit.

Through my education as a yoga instructor, my connection with people who have different abilities, my university education in Health and Society, and my personal path of wellness, I hope to be able to facilitate a group where people feel empowered, supported, and valued.

If you have any questions, please let me know, I would be happy to answer them! 

Leave a Reply

