8 Tips to More Energy

25 Apr

photo 1

How can I have a more positive energy?

Here are a couple of my ideas.

1. Exercise at least three times a week.

This is so important in so many ways. If this is the only thing I commit myself to: my sleep, my mood, and my thoughts will improve.

2. Journal at night time.

Recording Highs/Lows/Lessons and will help me digest my thoughts for the day, helping me become aware about my thoughts and emotions.

3. Treat yourself Day.

I am going to give myself a day once a month to focus on questions I need to ask myself, things that I want to explore, a recovery day. A day where I wake up in the morning, do yoga, go to a coffee shop, think, explore write. If I don’t schedule out this time for myself, I feel drained, as if I am doing all these things for other people and not giving myself the time I need to recharge.

4. Go for the Healthy Option.

You are what you eat, food is the fuel of your life! I am becoming more aware of what I am eating. I always thought I was a healthy eater because I knew what was healthy, without putting action what I know. Recently I have been on auto drive, eating things that were convenient rather than what would be the healthiest choice. I still will allow myself comfort food every now and again, but I like to imagine, “What will I feel like after I eat this?” It tends to help encourage me to go for the healthy choice rather than instant gratification.

5. Set up a good morning routine.

It does suck to wake up early, but I feel so proud when I started my day off well, and I am the first one at work. If I wake up now or 30 minutes from now, I will still be tired. But if I wake up now, I have time to do meditation and yoga stretches which will start my day off on a good foundation.

6. Getting enough sleep.

This is a crazy idea, getting to bed on time. But sleep affects so much of a person’s life. Inadequate sleep can affect mood, metabolism, immune system, and energy levels. If I want to live the best life, I need to take care of my body. Yes, there are some days when I will go to bed at 1 or 2 am, but let’s try to make those the exceptions.

7. Let go of negative thoughts.

It isn’t surprising how much our thoughts affect our mood, relations with others, and energy levels. I expanded in another post about tips how curbing the negativity.

Meditation is a great way to improve supportive and compassionate thoughts. There are many different ways to meditate. Find out which way works for you!

Another way to improve positive thoughts is to focus on gratitude. At nighttime I have a gratitude journal that I write down five things I was thankful for during the day.

8. Connecting with Presence: 

I am currently working on trying to enjoy the first bite, the first drink, the first breath, the first hello — giving myself presence, and gratitude for what currently is, and what will be. Jack Cornfield wrote an inspiring and eye opening book called A Path with Heart. 

“When we let go of our battles and open our heart to things as they are, then we come to rest in the present moment. This is the beginning and the end of spiritual practice. Only in this moment can we discover that which is timeless. Only here can we find the love that we seek. Love in the past is simply memory, and love in the future is fantasy. Only in the reality of the present can we love, can we awaken, can we find peace and understanding and connection with ourselves and the world.” 

Having a good life isn’t easy, but it sure beats the alternative!

Now go cultivate some positive energy like a curious and adventurous carrot farmer!

One Response to “8 Tips to More Energy”

  1. PositiveProject April 26, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

    Great ideas here. Its amazing how the little choices add up

Leave a Reply

