Life is a Series of Beautiful Stages

25 Apr

IMG_9075

I had an epiphany the other day. It was a Sunday night at around midnight, I had a beer in hand, no work the next day and was reflecting on the recent days before when stress was getting the better of me. Stressed about where I was and where I thought I should be.

But Sunday, this Sunday, I had spent it in the present, doing nothing related to all the work that needed to be done. Smiling at what currently is.

In this moment, I realized that life is done in stages.

There is a stage for childhood a stage for your teenage years, a stage for adulthood. And in each of these stages I looked forward to the next stage, without enjoying the joys of this current stage.

For example, when I was 10 I couldn’t wait until I was a teenager, when I was a teenager I couldn’t wait to drive, when I was in high school I couldn’t wait to be in University, when I was in University I couldn’t wait to get a job, you can see where this is going.

But in each of these stages there are such beautiful things to be grateful for.

When I was 10 I could play in the forest until it got dark, making pretend scenarios of trolls and goblins. Then I came home and enjoyed fabulous meals prepared by my mom.

When I was a teenager I got to explore the realms of what it meant to be me, trying out different character traits to see what fit.

When I learned to drive I spent late nights jumping in puddles on a rainy day, sharing music that soothed the soul, or talking till the wee hours of the morning about love, fear, and desire.

When I was in University there was so much to discover, so many countries to travel, anything was possible. Like detectives my friends and I investigated the riddles life presented before us, debated thoughts from essay we were exploring, and comforted each other in relationships we were trying to figure out.

It is true, I don’t have a house, a career, a loving husband, but what I do have is what I need in this stage of life.

I am grateful to be able to take naps on a random weekday, and take time off to visit my family in Tacoma.

I am grateful for the time to teach yoga on Mondays, and go out on a Thursday night to the Art Gallery of Ontario.

I am grateful to have the time to learn what I need to be healthy, happy, and present.

I am grateful to know 5 different ways to make a sandwich, and 10 different ways to make pasta.

I am grateful for the opportunity to live with three outstanding women.

I have faith, determination, and patience, that what I am working towards will come to fruition, but in the mean time, wow, this is a beautiful life.

Questions:

What things will we miss if we keep on thinking of what we don’t have, what we want, what is currently not in our stage?

What are you grateful to have in your current stage in life?

How will you appreciate the present?

How will you cultivate patience, simplicity, and presence so you can connect with abundance?

Leave a Reply

