Memories that Make me Smile

30 Aug

Image

October 10, 2006

Yesterday I fell asleep smiling. I thought about all the good things in Guatemala, all the people I met and the experience I had. The kiss from Josephine, the kind eyes of Hilme, hiking to the church with Fernando, the walk to the pick-up truck that takes me to the city, running through the coffee fields, playing soccer with the boys, swimming in the pool while it was raining.

 

The day that I watched the football game, and then went to a friend’s house, sat on the dirt floor and watched a Latin soap opera on a small T.V. It was that day that I truly felt a part of the community. Writing and reading by candle light while watching the windy rain. The huge lighting storm that happened on the 4th of July, and late night talks about life and love with Josephine and Hilme. Going to Carolina’s garden, and Rene’s humour and smile. 

 

I am so lucky to have all of these memories as Polaroid’s in my mind.

 

I hope they are well.

 

Truth is what I speak, love is where it comes from. 

Leave a Reply

