Becoming an Adult

18 Jul

db8b675f670bbf1b5403f5710218926bfb911024_xs

July 2013

“Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habit. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.” Lao Tzu

It is funny how we have these stages in our lives where we grow from baby to child from child to teenager from teenager to university student from university student to “adult”.

And along the way we have transitions, points in time where we are not a baby anymore but not yet a child, and how do we decide how to act, what we should do, what is right and what is wrong.

Can you remember those stages, remembering when we reached the next level?

How many times have we decided where our next step was going to be?

What type of person would we become?

What habits would we continue or let go?

So often I find myself drifting, drifting into a mould of myself for the sense of convenience. This is the easiest way to live, sure I have some flaws and things to improve but that takes work and I am ok with what my life is right now.

But I have found that drifting attitude has gotten me to a wall, where the ways I used to act as a university student are prohibiting me from moving forward. Where I want to excel at life, but I have to work on these years of bad habits and lack of direction in order to create a path I am proud of.

I can tell the difference between my adult self and my university self. I hear the voice instead my head, the irritability, the selfishness arise and then the adult self takes a breathe looks how this action would affect everyone and the consequences and decides what would be the most honourable thing to do.

It is funny to think that we have two selves inside our one being. But doesn’t that make the most sense, if we are always transforming. Something we need to let go of and something we need to advance to.

Micheangelo always said that there was a sculpture within the marble even before he started, and the only thing he needed to do was to let it free. Chipping bit by bit of the unusable rock away before the statue showed itself to him.

And maybe that is what it is like growing up, chipping away at all the nonsense that used to hold you back, and becoming your true self.

Best of luck to all of those who are trying. I know I am.

One Response to “Becoming an Adult”

  1. Kathleen September 19, 2013 at 5:19 am #

    this is excellent, Monique 🙂

Leave a Reply

